Home » East District News, Headline

East District Convention Update

May 8, 2012 No Comment

Delegates at work at the East District Convention

The East District of Lutheran Church–Canada re-elected Rev. Paul Zabel as its president at its 2012 convention May 7. Also elected were Rev. Timothy Teuscher as First Vice President, Rev. Ron Mohr as Second Vice President, and Mrs. Lois Griffin as Secretary.

The East District is holding its convention in Collingwood, Ontario until May 9. It began the evening of May 5 with a worship service. LCC President Robert Bugbee preached, while Rev. Ken Maher served as liturgist and President Zabel as lector.

Guest speaker Rev. Dr. Carl C. Fickenscher II was forced to cancel his presentations following the death of his father. In his place, Rev. Larry Gajdos (Mission Executive of the East District) gave an extended presentation on the challenge of sharing Christ in intercultural settings. On May 8, Al Feth of Lutheran Foundation Canada presented on stewardship, highlighting “our free and joyful response.” President Zabel will address the convention May 9 on how Jesus Lights our way as the Light of the World.

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.