Home » Headline, International News

LCMS reelects Matthew Harrison

June 16, 2016 No Comment
President Matthew Harrison (Photo: LCMS Communications)

President Matthew C. Harrison (Photo: LCMS Communications)

ST. LOUIS, Missouri – The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod (LCMS) has announced that Rev. Dr. Matthew C. Harrison has been reelected as President.

President Harrison was elected on the first ballot, receiving 56.96 percent of the votes cast. This is President Harrison’s third term, having first been elected to serve as president of the LCMS in 2010.

“On behalf of our Canadian church, I offer congratulations to President Harrison and wish him energy and a strong faith in Christ for the new term,” said President Robert Bugbee of Lutheran Church–Canada (LCC). “Leadership of the Missouri Synod is a heavy responsibility, and he has carried it out with real devotion. I am especially grateful for the ways in which he has encouraged our work in LCC, and his welcome support for the International Lutheran Council. His years of experience in parish ministry and ability to speak the language of the grassroots are always in evidence. God bless our partnership in the coming three years!”

Also nominated were Rev. Dr. Dale A. Meyer and Rev. Dr. David P.E. Maier, who received 36.66 percent and 6.38 percent of the votes respectively.

News of President Harrison’s reelection comes several weeks before the LCMS holds its 2016 national convention. In the LCMS, presidential elections are held four weeks in advance of the national convention. Voting delegates from each congregation in the synod were invited to vote electronically from June 11-14, and the results of the election were made public June 15.

Delegates will gather in Milwaukee at the Wisconsin Center for the 66th convention of the LCMS from July 9-14, 2016. Elections for Vice-Presidents and other synodical officers will take place during the convention.

The LCMS, an American church body with more than two million members, is Lutheran Church–Canada’s mother church.


Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.