Home » Central District News, Feature Stories, Headline

President Prachar reelected at Central District Convention

April 15, 2015 No Comment
President Prachar was reelected at 2015's Central District Convention in Saskatoon.

President Prachar was reelected at 2015’s Central District Convention in Saskatoon.

SASKATOON – The 10th (49th) regular convention of the Central District of Lutheran Church–Canada re-elected Rev. Thomas Prachar as District President on March 14, 2015.

This election marks President Prachar’s sixth term as President of the Central District, having been first elected in 2000. He was reelected 48-43 (with 1 ballot spoiled) over Rev. David Haberstock.

Central-Convention-LogoIn his report later in the day, President Prachar noted that he had wrestled over the question of allowing his name to stand for this election, eventually deciding in prayer that he would accept the will of the convention as God’s will. He also announced that this new three year term will be his final term as President of the Central District.

March 14 also saw the election of the District’s regional Vice Presidents. Elected to serve are:

  • Rev. Dr. John Kreutzwieser for the Regina Region
  • Rev. James Vosper for the Saskatoon Region
  • Rev. David Haberstock for the Thunder Bay Region
  • Rev. Alex Klages for the Winnipeg Region
  • Rev. Arron Gust for the Yorkton Region

Elected to serve as lay representatives on the Board of Directors are:

  • Roberta Nixon for the Regina Region
  • Daryl Walter for the Saskatoon Region
  • Michael Maunula for the Thunder Bay Region
  • Eileen Turner for the Winnipeg Region
  • Gloria Rathgeber for the Yorkton Region
  • Elton Harper as member at large

The District also passed resolutions “To Amend the Central District Bylaws regarding Concordia University College of Alberta Board of Directors’ Membership” and “To Merge the Katepwa and Qu’Appelle Circuits” on March 14.

Names here

Wyatt Harper serves as crucifer at the opening service, which Elton and Gracie Harper serve as torch bearers.

The convention opened the evening of April 13, 2015 with a worship service at St. Paul’s Lutheran Church in Saskatoon. Lutheran Church–Canada President Robert Bugbee served as preacher, Rev. Murray Keith as host pastor, Rev. Rudy Pastucha offered prayers, and Revs. Randy Heide, Rev. Lowell Guebert, and Rev. Howard Ulmer served as readers. Assisting with communion were President Bugbee, President Prachar, and Rev. James Vosper. Congregants were also blessed by a special choir, the service of Laura Neufeld on organ, Wyatt Harper as crucifer, Elton and Gracie Harper as torch bearers, Daryl Walter Team as ushers, and an altar guild composed of Dorothy Wood, Martha Sommerfeld and Marilyn Wood-Sparrow.

The convention is meeting April 13-16, and is meeting under the theme “Teach Us to Pray,” building on Lutheran Church–Canada’s 2014 national convention theme of “Come to Him Who Answers Prayer.” Additional information on the convention is available from the District’s website here.


Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.