3074 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg MB R3K 0Y2 Phone: (204) 895-3433 Fax: (204) 832-3018 Toll Free: 1-800 LUTHCAN (588-4226) E-mail: president@lutheranchurch.ca

Office of the President THE REV. ROBERT BUGBEE

REPORT ON ELECTIONS FROM THE PRESIDING OFFICER OF THE 11th LCC CONVENTION

October 23, 2017

To Convention Delegates, Pastors, Deacons and Congregations of Lutheran Church-Canada

Dear friends in Christ Jesus,

I have returned to my office after our Convention following some days dealing with pressing family matters, and apologize for the delay in providing details on the outcomes of the elections we conducted.

You may know that we were unable to conclude all the elections by the end of the Convention, even though delegates remained in the hall even after the originally scheduled adjournment time. The Elections Committee laboured diligently, but had been prevented from starting some portions of the election process until restructuring decisions had been made by the Convention. This was essential, because we needed to be clear precisely which entities required newly elected members, how many, etc.

Just before it closed, the Convention passed a resolution authorizing various entities to appoint members in keeping with the *Handbook* to fill their vacancies if their elections were unfinished. In doing so, those entities are to be guided by the ballot results which were available at adjournment. (In other words, if a particular candidate had a high vote total and was close to being elected at adjournment, the entities should be encouraged to appoint such a candidate as opposed to one who had received few or no votes.)

So here is a run-down of those actually elected by the time of adjournment, and a summary of the appointment homework yet needed:

President

Rev. Timothy Teuscher

Vice-President

Rev. Thomas Kruesel

Board of Directors (BOD)

Arnold Drung, Cindy Sholdice, Grace Henderson, Cam Pelzer, Kirsten Guggenmos, Deacon Suzanne Eberhard, Rev. Warren Hamp, Rev. Alex Klages, Rev. Kurt Reinhardt

Commission on Constitutional Matters and Structure (CCMS)

Gary Gilmour, Mark Hersey, Arlene Kish, Rev. William Ney (other spaces to be filled by appointment)

Commission on Adjudication

Rev. Dr. Kevin Fast, Rev. Jeremy Richert (other spaces to be filled by appointment)

Commission for Nominations and Elections (CNE)

Milton Joneson, Rod Johnson, Sharon Schieman, Rev. Keith Hoveland, Rev. Lorne Reddemann, Rev. Michael Meleg, Rev. Robert Morley, Rev. Paul Williams

Commission on Theology and Church Relations

(no election at adjournment; spaces to be filled by appointment)

For the Boards of Regents of the seminaries in Edmonton and St. Catharines, it was determined that LCC is not in a legal position to actually elect directors for those institutions, since the seminaries are in fact separately incorporated entities distinct from LCC. However, the seminaries understand themselves to be servants of the Synod. They have agreed that candidates chosen at the Synod Convention would be forwarded as nominees to the seminaries, which then would legally be able to appoint directors, guided by the ballot lists circulated at our LCC Convention.

Respectfully submitted, Robert Bugbee

Rev. Robert Bugbee, Presiding Officer 11th Lutheran Church-Canada Convention