Actions of 2008 Convention still impacting church

A task force and an implementation committee mandated by the 2008 LCC Convention held their initial meetings September 11 in St. Catharines, and September 14-15 in Edmonton.

The St. Catharines meeting, held at Concordia Lutheran Theological Seminary, launched the task force reviewing LCC’s vicarage program for seminary students. Members include: Rev. Mark Dressler, task force chair (St. Paul, Saskatoon); Rev. Prof. Jonathan Kraemer, (Concordia Lutheran Seminary); Rev. Dr. William Mundt, (Concordia Lutheran Theological Seminary); Deacon Siegrid Robak, (Prince of Peace School, Chestermere, Alta.); Rev. Andre Schroth, (First St. Paul’s, Wellesley, Ont.); Rev. Daryl Solie, (LCC first vice-president); and Cindy Taylor, task force secretary (First, Windsor, Ont.).

At the ABC District office in Edmonton, the committee to “establish a chaplaincy service for the care of church workers and their families” met to begin its work. Serving on the task force are Rev. Dr. Stephen Chambers, (Concordia Lutheran Seminary); Deacon Michael Gillingham, (Bethel, Sherwood Park, Alta.); Rev. Harry Haberstock, (Creston, B.C.); Rev. Mark Hartburg, task force chair (Historic St. Paul’s, Kitchener, Ont.); Rev. David Hilderman, consultant (Trinity, Abbotsford, B.C.); Rev. Sye Van Maanen, task force secretary (mission executive, Central District office).

There are now four groups involved in various actions mandated by the June 2008 convention. The Task Force on Cost Efficient Seminary Education continues its deliberations this fall, and the task force studying LCC’s cultural properties and archives program will meet by telephone conference before the end of September.

Posted By: Matthew Block
Posted On: September 16, 2009
Posted In: National News,

More Resources