Mission projects amid Moose Jaw’s healing waters

MOOSE JAW, Sask. – “The Healing Waters of Christ” was the theme in this hot-springs city as 135 delegates, board members and guests of the Manitoba and Saskatchewan District Lutheran Women’s Missionary League–Canada (LWMLC) gathered in convention at the Heritage Inn June 11-13.

Alvina Manweiler and Fran Freund enjoyed a plane ride courtesy of LAMP during the convention.

Keynote speaker LCC president Rev. Dr. Robert Bugbee and missions speaker Rev. Sye Van Maanen stirred the crowd with their presentations. The district’s pastoral counsellors, Revs. Lowell Dennis and Daryl Solie, presented Bible studies throughout the weekend. The convention heard reports and greetings from various LWMLC district and national committees as well as LCC officers, auxiliaries and educational institutions.

Voting delegates approved a goal of $48,000 for mission grants over the next triennium, going toward:
• Street ministry in Regina, $10,000
• Funds to fly missionaries to the North to teach VBS through LAMP, $5000
• Repairs for Camp Lutherland in Saskatchewan, $10,000
• Purchasing new and replacement zinc plates for Lutheran Braille Workers, $10,000
• Helping Lutherans for Life–Canada provide Word of Hope counselling services in Canada, $2500
• Funding purchase of Bibles for outreach ministry by Grace/New Beginnings Lutheran Church, Regina, $6,000
• Mission Opportunity Funds for new mission work during the triennium, $4500

Forty-five women (and one gentleman) rose bright and early Saturday, June 12, and enjoyed a sunny walk for missions, raising a total of $6574. Funds go to the district’s project WATER (Water Available to Every Race) supporting two Canadian Lutheran World Relief efforts that provide water-quality testing kits and create new wells.

During the course of the convention, delegates also approved several bylaw changes. One enables zones to choose a different means of interacting with the women in LCC congregations. Also approved was a change that more evenly distributes the workload among the vice-presidents.

Delegates also elected new officers:
• Agnes Luciow (Saint James, Winnipeg) as president
• Vice-president for Christian missions, Helga Judt (Immanuel, Winnipeg)
• Vice-president for member development, Diane Dennis (St. Paul, Cupar, Sask.)
Re-elected were:
• Vice-president for Christian growth, Patti Kreutzwieser (Emmanuel, Moose Jaw)
• Vice-president for communication, Sheila Flahr (St. Peter’s, Oxbow, Sask.)
• Pam Burns (Mount Olive, Regina), secretary
• Colleen Kardash (Emmanuel, Moose Jaw), treasurer

Posted By: Matthew Block
Posted On: September 17, 2010
Posted In: Central District News,

More CanadianLutheran.ca Resources